The World According to Renee

Views, Reviews, Randoms and More…

Time of My Life

Depression is a strange creature. Despite having lived with it for about half my life, I’m still unsure that I’m suffering it until it’s too late. Recently, I’ve had some bad days. Nothing has happened, but my brain hasn’t reacted nicely. My thoughts are obscure, unhealthy and verging on debilitating. Yesterday was my lowest point; my darkest day. You know what? I survived it. And I’m proud of myself for doing so.

Traditionally, I use the week before my birthday as a time of reflection. This year, I only see the future. Some of it scares me, some of it is comforting. I’m about to leave my job. As far as I’ve been concerned, it has served only as a paycheque but even that can’t keep me there any longer. It’s liberating but I will miss some things- like the people and my deli girl muscles!

So, what next? Writing. I keep saying I’m a writer; that I want to write for a living. I also say I’m a Superfox and that life is too short for bullshit. Now, it’s time to step up and actually live like that!

Muchas gracias, deli. So long, and thanks for all the fish.

October 21, 2009 - Posted by | Thoughts & Reflections

3 Comments »

  1. I am glad you are feeling better…me on the other hand not feeling so good.

    Comment by Cindy | October 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. So proud of you too for making it through your darkest day!! And looking forward – that is often one of the hardest things to do when depressed, so I am so glad you can do this 🙂

    As for the job and the future work… You WILL be a writer – you are a writer already, and the courage to leave your job and concentrate on your passion is such an amazing thing to do.

    Well done!! And break a leg, sista!

    Comment by Mandi | October 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi Birthday Sister!!

    Your desciption reminded me of the character in Prozac Nation when she says that “Depression comes on gradually then suddenly.”

    Writing is in your soul!!!!! Keep writing and worry about putting it all together later!! Plus, there are so many famous writers born on our birthday so there you go.

    Hugs,
    Janice

    Comment by Janice | October 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

