The World According to Renee

Views, Reviews, Randoms and More…

Sisterhood

By no stretch of the imagination am I a feminist. However, I do believe in empowering women: teaching women to stand up for themselves, stand in their own power, be themselves. Why? Many women are servants; to their kids, their husband/partner, boss, colleagues, sisters, friends and everyone else in their life. I don’t really know why this is- maybe they just can’t say no.

I do a lot of my thinking while I’m on the cross trainer. Let’s face it, exercising is frickin boring so you may as well let your mind wander. Today, my thoughts wandered to empowerment. (This is where I should say something about how empowered I feel by actively doing something to lose a few kilos, being sexy blah blah blah. Truth is, I hate exercising and I just feel hot, sweaty and smelly whilst doing it- nothing less ’empowering’). I had what Oprah calls a “lightbulb” moment.

You’re not alone, but you’re on your own.

No matter what you do or say, a woman has done/said it before (unless you’re Amelia Earhardt or Valentina Tereshkova). But usually when you do/say it, no one is standing there with you; you’re on your own. It can be very lonely when you stand up for yourself. Maybe that’s why we don’t do it that often. Quite frankly, it’s very wrong. One day, I want to help women to not just feel empowered, but BE empowered. I want them to know their own strength, to stand up, not take crap from anyone (and do it in a loving way, not be a bitch about it), to say YES to life and NO to drama.

About six months ago, I attended a four day seminar in Melbourne. As part of this seminar, we broke boards with our bare hands; karate style. There were so many women who, at the very last second, completely lost their confidence and couldn’t break the board. I pulled my team together (for some unknown reason, I’d been voted team leader) and gave them a pep talk- Superfox style.

“OK ladies! Have a look at my wrists; they’re tiny. If I miss the board, if I lose my concentration, if I don’t aim right, I’ll break my wrist. (This is true, I have very thin wrists). Now, I know I can do this, I’ve done it before. Breaking those boards isn’t about strength, it’s not how strong your muscles are. It’s about concentration and determination. Not ‘what if I can’t?’, it’s ‘Bring it on!’ ”

Every one of the women in my team broke that inch thick board the very first attempt.

Getting through the crap in our lives is a challenge we face every day. By getting ourselves into the mindset of “Bring it on!” we see through the obstacle to the other side. We can easily break those boards of life. All we need is the confidence and the determination.

Have a Superfoxy day, sisters!

November 8, 2009 - Posted by | Thoughts & Reflections

3 Comments »

  1. good to see some positive thought in your life Renee.
    Empowerment for me means I can do some stuff but not other stuff and it’s not a failure to ask for help.
    I see no weakness in asking the man to undo a tight bolt (and such)…merely a recognition if my limitations – and I find that VERY liberating and empowering.
    I like your opening statement…I considered myself a feminist for quite a while, then realised I was only a part time feminist which doesn’t make a whole lotta sense (to me anyways).
    Now I realise I’m a humanist. We all have strengths and weaknesses and we can successfully complement one another without submission.

    Comment by Toni | November 8, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Toni 🙂
      Of course there’s always going to be things which are strictly a man’s domain, like tightening bolts, spider killing and hooking up weird new technology to the TV. I’ve met so many women over the years who lose their sense of identity because they’re trying so hard to be something else to other people: such as mother, wife etc. I’ve always said you have to look after yourself first because who looks after you? Who’s there to pick up the pieces if you fall apart? That’s the essence of empowerment to me.

      Comment by superfox8 | November 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. “By no stretch of the imagination am I a feminist. However, I do believe in empowering women”

    That is called feminism 🙂

    Comment by BMac | January 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

