The World According to Renee

Views, Reviews, Randoms and More…

Life ‘n’ Stuff

This morning I went on a quest for a green shirt. This is incidental to the story, but without it, the story would not have been told. (I need the green shirt because next weekend, I am starring as Donatello in a sweded version of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles). My quest took me to the op shop where I used to volunteer. I caught up with a woman whom I used to work with. At the time I left, she’d just gone to Adelaide to be with her mother who was having an operation. Her mum is now fine 🙂 Two nights after her return, she received a devastating phone call from her son: her eldest granddaughter had suddenly passed away. She was only 22, had a 10 week old baby and a fiance. Apparently she was in the middle of doing normal kitchen things and suddenly died. The coroner’s report found nothing. Apparently the woman’s great-grandmother also died in similar circumstances. My friend is naturally very upset but has the attitude of “That’s life. Stuff happens.” Well, I guess it does, but it doesn’t make it any easier to handle or accept. Yet another reminder not to take anything or anyone for granted.

On my way home, I stopped behind a car at a red light. When the light turned green, the car didn’t move, so I touched my horn. I think it’s a normal response when the car in front of you is clearly daydreaming (mind you, this was a good 5 seconds after the light turned green). The guy stuck his hand out the window and gave me the finger. Charming. I wondered if he’s naturally rude, or acting out that he was caught daydreaming. I’m sure, had the situation been reversed and I was daydreaming at the lights, he would’ve beeped his horn too. Still, it was an unnecessary gesture from a clearly rude old man!

One more, unrelated, point I’d like to chat about. Over the last two days, I’ve re-watched all three Back to the Future movies. In the second one, Marty McFly bought an almanac of all the sport scores spanning 50 years. He plans to “make a few bucks”. Biff steals it and the DeLorean, gives the almanac to his younger self in 1955 before returning the time machine to 2015: making 1985 an alternate reality for Marty and Doc when they return. Biff has clearly made a fortune with this almanac. Begs the question: what would you do? Amass a fortune, win yourself a few dollars when you’re desperate, feel guilty and never use it, or retire and use the winnings to live off but nothing over the top? I’d like to hear your thoughts about it.

November 12, 2009 - Posted by | Thoughts & Reflections

2 Comments »

  1. Well I’d start out by retiring and using the winnings to live off but nothing over the top (out of possible guilt) but once I got a taste of it I’m sure I’d go totally over the top and amass a fortune 🙂

    By the way, did you find a green shirt? I totally have one! (t-shirt that is)

    xo

    Comment by SpaceFairy | November 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. As if you wouldn’t use it to your advantage. That’s loser talk. No-one would be hurt, you make a lot of cash, everyone’s happy.

    Comment by Stacey | November 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

