The World According to Renee

Views, Reviews, Randoms and More…

Perspective

Today’s just been a crappy day. Some days are like that. I’ve been over-thinking due to boredom, which is never a good thing. Some work has been coming my way; I’m pleased I’ve been able to finish it all before deadline. This over-thinking has led me to some inner turmoil which has taken a lot to shift.

Today, I discovered my number plates had been stolen from my car. It was deliberate: they’d gone around the other two cars parked to get to mine. The worst part is, I heard my dog barking madly early this morning and yelled at her. Since she barks at anything, it’s hardly worth checking on everything she barks at. Still, I felt stupid at just yelling at her. It’s an annoyance like you wouldn’t believe. Police reports, paperwork, other govt offices, more paperwork… and the cost of getting them replaced (why they’re not covered by insurance, I don’t know.)

Anyway, I spent the day cursing the (censored) and hoping they’ll be struck by lightning. I was so angry, so frustrated, so ticked off with the whole thing. What kind of moron steals personalised plates? They’re so easily traced and recognisable (I suspect some teenage girl thought they were cute and persuaded her boyfriend to steal them for her). When I took time out from my ranting and raving, I saw the bigger picture.

Ten years ago, in a small village called Glenbrook in the Blue Mountains of NSW, a commuter train hit the famous Indian Pacific. The crash killed seven people- including the father of my best friend. She’d lost her mother two years earlier to cancer. It was a horrific time for her but also for the whole Mts community. It didn’t occur to me until I saw the news today that it’s been 10 years since the tragedy. It’s strange how something so much bigger can instantly put you in the backseat.

Further down my facebook page was another post from a friend; eighteen years ago she lost her father. It’s safe to say I felt spectacularly foolish at these posts. Here I was ranting about a minor annoyance of stolen number plates when two of my friends lost their fathers on this day.

December 3, 2009 - Posted by | Thoughts & Reflections

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

