The World According to Renee

Views, Reviews, Randoms and More…

Whoa! That’s a job?

Last year I attended a seminar and met an amazing lady named Bernadette Schwerdt. She is a copywriter, one of the most famous in Australia and the creator of the only copywriting school in Australia. Now, we’ve all read the writing on a packet of chocolate, but who writes it? A copywriter. The writing on that awesome Matt Damon billboard I’ve been driving past for the last month? A copywriter wrote it (at least, I think there’s writing. My eyes only see Matt Damon…)

I had a “OMG that’s a job??” moment when she explained what a copywriter does. It was also the point I realised I’d been doing it for years without realising it. Seemed a logical step for me.

I also had one of those moments yesterday, when I discovered the job of wearing new clothes so someone from David Jones can look at it and decide if they’re going to stock it or not. Like a model, but less glamourous.

After seeing the movie Kenny, I began to show some appreciation for the Forgotten Employed: the ones we take for granted that clean our messes, wash the public toilets and throw our leftover McDonalds into the bin. They are the heart and soul of our community, literally doing the dirty work while we go about our lives.

I guess the point of this entry is that there’s always someone behind the scenes. Take a look at the Oscars’ red carpet and you’ll see the work of beauticians and plastic surgeons. The clothes you buy have been modelled by someone. The food you eat has been tested by someone (admittedly, possibly someone who was deaf, dumb, blind, stupid and with no tastebuds…)

Say hello to one of the Forgotten Employed today.

February 3, 2010 - Posted by | Thoughts & Reflections

1 Comment »

  1. mmm…. *ponders*. I had a job once. Good times.

    Comment by Stacey | February 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

