The World According to Renee

Views, Reviews, Randoms and More…

The Ego-Centricity of New Media

Recently I wrote some web copy for a company that makes personalised children’s gifts and toys. The aim of the copy was to impart how fun and special a gift is when it has the child’s name on it.

Anyone with kids knows this to be true. It’s even more special when the gift has the exact spelling of the name… but don’t get me started on that! Although my name is not unusual, it was uncommon when I was a kid and I didn’t have anything with my name on it. My friends Amy, Stephanie and Melissa all had necklaces, notepaper, pencil cases and pencils with their names on it, but I was left out. These days, it is easier to find products with my name on them (I have a mug from Movie World with my favourite cartoon character and my name!) but does having personalised products make you ego-centric?

I blame the internet. Everyone can have a blog (like the one you’re now reading), multiple social media sites and a web presence (otherwise known as a Google footprint). Do I think people read my blog? Yes, I know they do- the stats on the Dashboard tell me so. Do people read my statuses on Facebook? Do they read my Tweets? (probably not since I haven’t bothered with Twitter for over a year!) Why do I care?

For me, writing a blog is a way of keeping in touch with my friends and clients (potential, current and former) as well as getting my thoughts out of my head so I can concentrate on other things. Randy Gage uses his blog as a way to sell his courses, books and other products. He’s the top of his field at what he does (former copywriter and now motivational speaker on creating abundance). For so many other people, a blog is a way to publish their own weird and wacky stories. There is so much garbage on the internet, because people now have a voice to share it with the world. These ideas aren’t new, there’s just another way to reach a whole new audience.

People crave attention. From the moment we do something awesome like catch a ball, calling “Watch me, daddy!”, we are creating a need to be noticed, prove we are special, a reason we stand out in the crowd. Personalised gifts do indeed make us feel special, a trend which continues into adulthood as we move into social media pages and blogging. Somehow, in the midst of all this, our ego is being fed with each comment, reply and viewing of the page.

You love me! You really love me!

July 26, 2011 - Posted by | Thoughts & Reflections

1 Comment »

  1. How do you think it was for me? Even before I changed the spelling of my first name, there were never any mugs/key-rings/pencils for me. Jim made me a little plaque with my first name engraved on it šŸ™‚ I must have it made into a key-ring.

    Comment by Katariina Kempis | July 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

