The World According to Renee

Views, Reviews, Randoms and More…

Review: Life of Pi

“Which story do you prefer?”

Let me start by saying, I haven’t read the book. Not for lack of trying; I started it several times and couldn’t get past the first few chapters so I gave up. By the looks of the film, I should have given that up too.

Most people are familiar with the basic plot: a boy is lost at sea with only a Bengal tiger for company. In the novel, the first part is exceedingly boring. In the film, the first part is the most interesting while the voyage is exceedingly boring.

Don’t get me wrong- the film is beautifully shot, well acted and perfectly scored. However it is also over-CGI’d and utterly ridiculous; at one point I wondered if the film had been spliced with Avatar. I understand the CGI, you can’t have an actor on a lifeboat in the middle of the ocean with real wild animals. The premise makes a lot more sense when you get to the end (no spoilers) but when you’re sitting there watching it, you feel ripped off that someone thought this would be plausible. Even the resolution is unsatisfactory, but the premise does make sense after it is revealed.

I really can’t say much about this film. I was bored to tears and felt utterly dissatisfied at the end; I looked at the time and considered walking out with an hour to go, then rolled my eyes furiously at the resolution. This is not the fault of Ang Lee, who has made a visually magnificent movie. And kudos also to the screenwriter, who did what I couldn’t and trudged through the novel to produce a script. It’s all metaphors and analogies and if there was a point to it all, I missed it completely.

6 out of 10 popcorns.

January 24, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

