The World According to Renee

Views, Reviews, Randoms and More…

This is What I Know

I know I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed. I’m not a complete idiot, although I act like it sometimes. I make stupid mistakes and I don’t work well with numbers.

There are a lot of things that define me. “What do you do?” Well, I do a lot of things. I’m a blogger, a uni student, a retail worker, team leader, writer and avid watcher of film and TV. Somehow, all people see is one aspect.

I also know that when I get a dickhead customer, I feel the need to defend (and define) myself. One customer said to me today, “Are you still selling doughnuts? You were here when I was last here!” Uh, yeah. This is my job, where else would I be? Some hours later, just before close, I gave someone else what he asked for, but yet I’m the stupid one for not giving him the one he meant.

Today was one of those slow days where I get my actual work done very quickly and I spent the rest of the afternoon in “thinking time”. Today, I thought about stars and galaxies and how they came to be. I have a keen interest in the sciences but I’ll never be a scientist- I’ll need some hardcore maths to get there and I stumble over the simplest equations.

I know I’ll never be an acclaimed writer. I’m not creative enough and I don’t write great prose. I know I’ll never be a great singer because I am completely tone deaf and can’t hold a tune.

What do I know? I know I’m good at my job. I know I’m a good student. I know I’m a good writer. I know people will read this post and think I’m feeling down on myself. I know that my job selling doughnuts has no reflection on who I am and what else I do. I know that what people think doesn’t define me. Above all, I know I’m better than that.

July 16, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

